The Governing Body

The Governing Body consists of 14 Governors. There are 8 Foundation Governors (appointed by the Diocese and the Parochial Church Council at St Wilfrid’s Church), 2 parent governors, 1 teacher governor (appointed by the teaching staff), 1 staff governor, 1 Local Education Authority representative and the Head Teacher.


  • Mr D Porter (Foundation Governor) c/o Ribchester St Wilfrid’s C of E School, Church Street, Ribchester, Preston, PR3 3XP.


  • Vacancy (Local Education Authority representative)

Foundation Governors

  • Mr D Porter
  • Mr J A Tomlinson
  • Mr T J Watts (Vice Chair of Governors)
  • Rev Canon B McConkey 
  • Mrs R Billington
  • Mr J Hart 
  • Miss A Flynn
  • Vacancy

Parent Governors

  • Dr J Barrett
  • Mrs V Mason

Staff Governor

  • Mrs E Taylor

Head Teacher

  • Mrs A Cottam


Governors' Attendance

Register of Interests

The role of the Governing Body

The role of the Governing Body is to promote high standards of educational achievement. They achieve this through ensuring the school offers a broad and balanced curriculum and developing a clear strategic development plan for the school and monitoring its progress.

The instrument of Government for the Governing Body can be viewed in school, as can all the minutes of Governors meetings.

If you are interested in becoming a Governor, your can read more at the following links about how to get involed as either a Foundation Governor or Parent Governor.

Future Meeting Dates

Business and Management Committee

  • Tuesday 8 October 2019
  • Tuesday 28 January 2020
  • Tuesday 12 May 2020

Curriculum Committee

  • Tuesday 15 October 2019
  • Thursday 6 February 2020
  • Thursday 21 May 2020

Standards and Effectiveness Committee

  • Wednesday 11 September 2019
  • Tuesday 19 November 2019
  • Tuesday 21 January 2020
  • Tuesday 5 May 2020 

Full Governing Body Meeting

  • Tuesday 26 November 2019
  • Tuesday 17 March 2020
  • Tuesday 23 June 2020

Additional meetings